Skip to content

Geography and Geology


  • Forming part of the North Atlantic basalt area, which stretches from Ireland to Greenland, the 18 Faroe Islands have been moulded in a volcanic layering process.

  • The islands cover an area of around 1.400 km2 (540 sq mi).
  • The islands are divided into six regions, known as sýslur. These are: Norðoyar, Eysturoy, Streymoy, Vágar, Sandoy and Suðuroy.

  • The Faroese coastline is approximately 1,117 kilometres (694 mi).

  • There is only one significant uninhabited island. The island is called Lítla Dímun, meaning "little Dímun", as it neighbours "Stóra Dímun" (Big Dímun).

  • Slættaratindur is the country's highest point. Towering at 882 metres above sea level.

To read more about the geography of the Faroe Islands, visit: